Home » Forum Home » Development

Topic: Some ideas to enhance 'playing with computers'
Replies: 7   Views: 29,659   Pages: 1   Last Post: Jan 15, 2009, 4:34 AM by: jackschidt

Search Forum

Back to Topic List Topics: [ Previous | Next ]
Replies: 7   Views: 29,659   Pages: 1  
galmacky

Some ideas to enhance 'playing with computers'
Posted: Jan 5, 2009, 3:49 PM

Hi there,
I am a newbie here. In an effort to learn Pente, I often play with AIs. While playing with them, some ideas arose as follows:

1. Allow 'Undo' for every human turn. This will really help newbies like me. I am pretty sure this is feasible because the space needed for the path is only linear and I assume that AI will make a new move based only upon the current stone positions.

2. Start from a saved / created status. If my assumption is right, this is also feasible.

Please correct me if my assumption is wrong in the first place.

carson75

Home page
Re: Some ideas to enhance 'playing with computers'
Posted: Jan 7, 2009, 12:01 AM

Yeah, I would love to see an undo button for the AI that can go back more than one move...especially considering that games with the AI are unrated anyway. I would be willing to put a small donation into the pot to have that kind of feature. Would anyone else want to chip in to make this feature?

jackschidt

Posted: Jan 11, 2009, 9:38 AM

Cool ideas. But is that what it takes to get something done around here? Throw money at it? Sounds like a politician. Ok dude, I'll see you $5 bucks for the undo option; and raise you another $5 for a 1700 level mm_ai9, and a 1900 level mm_ai10!

weszy

Posted: Jan 13, 2009, 6:34 AM

I agree that it would be helpful to allow the computer to undo. I can't imagine it would be too difficult to implement since human players can undo already.

baddsixx9

Home page
Posted: Jan 13, 2009, 12:35 PM