Home » Forum Home » Important Threads Directory. View Only

Topic: Pente for Dummies, by: jasonb
Replies: 2   Views: 13,413   Pages: 1   Last Post: Aug 14, 2014, 2:39 AM by: zoeyk

Search Forum

Back to Topic List Topics: [ Previous | Next ]
Replies: 2   Views: 13,413   Pages: 1  
zoeyk

Home page
Pente for Dummies, by: jasonb
Posted: Aug 12, 2014, 10:31 PM

This thread and post was originally created by player: jasonb.

To join in the discussion of this thread please go to the mirror thread of this thread where you may make new posts:
http://pente.org/gameServer/forums/thread.jspa?forumID=27&threadID=4553&tstart=15

Pente for Dummies
I am by no means a Pente expert, that's why I feel well suited for writing this guide. There are plenty of strategy guides in this forum written by players who have much more experience and talent than I do. My intent is to write this from a beginner's perspective. I will build on this as I learn and welcome comments or suggested improvements. Most of these tips were shared with me by other players on this site whom I respect and greatly appreciate for the time they spent helping me.

Rules
Players take turns placing their stones on the intersecting lines of the board. The first play is always in the center of the board. The object of the game is to either get 5 stones in a row (vertically, horizontally or diagonally) or capture 5 of your opponent's pairs. Captures are made by surrounding 2 of your opponents' stones (vertically, horizontally, or diagonally) with 2 of your stones. A player's stones cannot be captured by moving in-between 2 of their opponent's existing stones.